137. Deputy Clare Daly asked the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform the number of transfers of Department of Justice and Equality staff planned in 2018 and 2019 in zone 7 under the mobility policy section; and if he will make a statement on the matter. (Question 19905/18 asked on 08 May 2018)

Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform (Deputy Paschal Donohoe): Phase 1A of the Civil Service Mobility scheme was launched for Clerical Officers and Executive Officers to apply for mobility in November 2017. Over 3,300 staff members have applied for mobility since its launch. 

When the Mobility system becomes operational for organisations to initiate transfers, vacant posts will be filled in accordance with the following organisational sequence.

CO – 50% Mobility : 50% Open;

EO – 40% Open : 30% Interdepartmental* : 30% Internal.

*one in every two Interdepartmental vacancies to be filled by Mobility.

The above sequencing will be applied on a nationwide basis per Department.

However it is neither possible to predict how many roles will become vacant in 2018 and 2019 or how these sequences will be applied specifically in Zone 7.